The History of Caféière Beauséjour

The Habitation Caféière Samana Beauséjour, called Habitation Caféière Beauséjour or Gros-Morne dates from the end of the 19th century.

 

This house is the only testimony to the history of this property, the coffee dryer (boucan) having been totally destroyed during the passage of cyclone Hugo in September 1989.

 

This house is one of the oldest in Pointe-Noire. It faces East-West on a hill at an altitude of 295 m. It dominates the entire Pointe-Noire region, both on the Caribbean Sea and mountain sides.

 

In 1928, during the passage of the GREAT cyclone, this one damaged a part of its facilities and led to a decrease in its coffee-growing activity.

 

Formerly framed by its coffee boucan and its outdoor kitchen, the house has stacked galleries.

The walls and the frame are entirely of mahogany and courbaril wood, and the essentes (facade tiles) are of mountain guava wood. The traditional cladding is in country pear. The floors are pitchpin wood. The pitchpin is a conifer, native to Florida and the Mississippi basin, reaching on average 25 meters high and with yellow wood with reddish vein. Cheaper than exotic wood like teak, the pitchpin is used in cabinetmaking for the manufacture of fancy furniture and in carpentry for that of parquet floors under Napoleon III.

 

The main stages of La Caféière Beauséjour :

Around 1765-1775, the map representing Pointe-Noire indicates the existence of a modest dwelling, at the exact location of the current Coffee House. The owner indicated is Mr Dessources. He was Pierre Félix Gosse Dessources (born January 10, 1731 in Pointe-Noire), married to Cécile Millard on July 01, 1753 in Pointe-Noire. She died and the succession was settled between 1773 and 1779. According to research by Fond Parisis, the estate had 60,000 feet of coffee and 30,000 outside the estate. The main house has 60 squares and has 18 slaves. Cassava, peas and corn are also grown there.

 

A violent cyclone caused damage in 1776. During the division, the accommodation returned to 2 of the 3 sisters, one Marie-Catherine Cécile, a minor and single, the other, Marie-Magdeleine, wife of Séraphin de Blaine. It’s the husband who takes the farm lease.

 

It was not until the middle of the 19th century to find the trace of this house, through the succession of Mrs. Veuve Charles Lesueur, passing to her many children who sold portions in 1878 and 1879, as well as in 1884 and 1887.

 

In 1901, there were two heiresses, Aurélie Lesueur and Pauline Lesueur, wife of Pierre François Wilfrid Pagésy.

Aurélie sells her share (1/4) to the couple for the value of 4,000 Francs, which indicates that they are 4 co-heirs and that the Pagésy now own 50%. The domain is then 47 hectares. It is mentioned that this property consists of a main house and outbuildings.

 

During the 20th century, the property was bought by the Duflau family. Coffee production ceased at this time.

PATRIMOINE GUADELOUPE_Couv_vh.jpg

Housing listed p124 of "Patrimoine de la Guadeloupe" 

FONDATION CLÉMENT

HC editions 2017

Housing listed p30-31 & 40 of "Maisons des Antilles" par Michael Connors 

FLAMMARION editions 2007

Housing listed p 164/165 of "La Guadeloupe et ses trésors - Le patrimoine archéologique de l'île papillon"

David LAPORAL

ERRANCE editions 2010

 

Booking

+33 6 66 44 85 19 | +33 6 48 78 75 20

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • TripAdvisor
  • YouTube

©2023 par Colbyco design pour HSB

L'Histoire de la Caféière Beauséjour

L’habitation Caféière Samana Beauséjour, appelée Habitation Caféière Beauséjour ou Gros-Morne date de la fin du XIXe siècle.

 

Cette maison est le seul témoignage de l’histoire de cette propriété, le séchoir à café (boucan) ayant été totalement détruit lors du passage du cyclone Hugo en septembre 1989. 

Cette habitation est l’une des plus anciennes de Pointe-Noire. Elle est orientée Est-Ouest posée sur un morne (colline) à 295 m d’altitude. Elle domine toute la région de Pointe-Noire, à la fois côté mer des Caraïbes et côté montagne.

En 1928, lors du passage du GRAND cyclone, ce dernier endommage une partie de ses installations et entraine une diminution de son activité d’habitation caféière.

 

Autrefois encadrée par son boucan à café et sa cuisine extérieure, la maison possède des galeries superposées.

Les murs et la charpente sont entièrement en bois d’acajou et courbaril, et les essentes (tuiles de façade) sont en bois de goyavier de montagne. Le bardage traditionnel est en poirier pays. Les planchers sont, quant à eux, en bois de pitchpin. Le pitchpin est un conifère, originaire de Floride et du bassin du Mississipi, atteignant en moyenne 25 mètres de haut et au bois jaune à veine rougeâtre. Moins cher que le bois exotique comme le teck, le pitchpin sert en ébénisterie pour la fabrication des meubles fantaisie et en menuiserie pour celle des parquets sous Napoléon III.

 

Les grandes étapes de La Caféière Beauséjour :

Vers 1765-1775, la carte représentant Pointe-Noire indique l’existence d’une modeste habitation, à l’emplacement exact de l’Habitation Caféière actuelle. Le propriétaire indiqué est Monsieur Dessources. Il s’agit de Pierre Félix Gosse Dessources (né le 10 janvier 1731 à Pointe-Noire), marié à Cécile Millard le 01 juillet 1753 à Pointe-Noire. Cette dernière décède et la succession se règle entre 1773 et 1779. D’après les recherches du Fond Parisis, le domaine comporte 60.000 pieds de café et 30.000 hors domaine. L’habitation principale compte 60 carrés et dispose de 18 esclaves. On y cultive également du manioc, des pois et du maïs.

 

Un violent cyclone fait des dégâts en 1776. Lors du partage, l’habitation revient à 2 des 3 sœurs, l’une Marie-Catherine Cécile, mineure et célibataire, l’autre, Marie-Magdeleine, épouse de Séraphin de Blaine. C’est le mari qui prend l’habitation en bail à ferme.

 

Il faut attendre le milieu du 19ème siècle pour retrouver la trace de cette habitation, au travers de la succession de Mme Veuve Charles Lesueur passant à ses nombreux enfants qui vendent des portions en 1878 et 1879, ainsi qu’en 1884 et 1887.

 

En 1901, on retrouve deux héritières, Aurélie Lesueur et Pauline Lesueur, épouse de Pierre François Wilfrid Pagésy. 

Aurélie vend sa part (1/4) au couple pour la valeur de 4.000 Francs, ce qui indique qu’ils sont 4 cohéritiers et que les Pagésy en détiennent maintenant 50%. Le domaine est alors de 47 hectares. Il est évoqué que cette propriété est composée d’une habitation principale et de dépendances. 

 

Au cours du 20ème siècle, la propriété est achetée par la famille Duflau. La production de café cesse à cette époque.

PATRIMOINE GUADELOUPE_Couv_vh.jpg

Habitation répertoriée p124 du "Patrimoine de la Guadeloupe" 

FONDATION CLÉMENT

HC éditions 2017

Habitation répertoriée p30-31 & 40 de "Maisons des Antilles" par Michael Connors 

FLAMMARION éditions 2007

Habitation répertoriée p 164/165 de "La Guadeloupe et ses trésors - Le patrimoine archéologique de l'île papillon"

David LAPORAL

ERRANCE éditions 2010

 

Renseignements

+33 6 66 44 85 19 | +33 6 48 78 75 20

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • TripAdvisor
  • YouTube

©2023 par Colbyco design pour HSB